Roger de Clare

Roger de Clare

C. of E. First School and Nursery

Maximum achievement for all in a happy, caring and Christian environment

Station Road, Puckeridge, Ware, Hertfordshire SG11 1TF

01920 821363




The 7 areas of learning:

Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes and childminders registered to deliver the EYFS must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. This was revised in 2021.  

The revision has changed the areas of learning and development which guide professionals with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge. They are organised into 7 areas, with 3 prime areas underpinning all aspects of learning:

  • Personal, social and emotional development.
  • Communication and language.
  • Physical development.

Then there are 4 specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. As professionals teaching and supporting your child, we try to ensure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs and interests.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoor and outside.

Children’s learning development and achievements are monitored with continuous assessment by staff on daily activities. Observations on where and with whom your child plays and how they learn and play are also made. These observations form part of our assessment that will tell you about your child’s progress throughout the EYFS.

Assessment and Reporting:

Throughout the year you will be updated on your child's progress through termly consultations. We have recently introduced additional opportunities to welcome parents and carers into school to share and celebrate learning journeys with their children.  Staff are always available to talk at other times as required. 

At the end of the EYFS, in the summer term of the Reception year in school, the teachers complete an assessment which is known as the EYFS profile. This assessment is based on what they, and other staff caring for your child have observed over a period of time. All of the information is collected is used to judge how your child is doing in the 7 areas of learning and development. Information will be shared with the teacher that your child will have in Year one to inform them of your child’s progress and areas for development.

The school will give you a report of your child’s progress, including information from his or her EYFS Profile. Part of this report will inform you about your child’s learning styles, which are described as the ‘Characteristics of effective learning’ and include the following aspects:

By playing and exploring:

  • Finding out and exploring
  • Using what they know in their play
  • Being willing to have a go

Through active learning

  • Being involved and concentrating
  • Keeping on trying
  • Enjoying and achieving what they set out to do

By creating and thinking critically

  • Having their own ideas
  • Using what they already know to learn new things
  • Choosing ways to do things and finding new ways

There will also be a consultation to discuss the report and transition into Year 1 so that we can ensure that both yourself and your child are ready for the next phase of education.  This consultation takes place in the summer term. 


Would you like to know more?

Click here for the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. 

Please click on the Curriculum Maps for the EYFS Curriculum document.  

Postcards from Early Childhood Maths Group to support learning with home activities.  




Back to the Top